The Big Picture

Since we created a whole new vision for our homeschool, I’ve been working on our bigger picture.  This includes what we will be covering over the years we will be homeschooling. Instead of just planning the year, our big picture includes laying out a scope and sequence through high school.

bigpicture
The Big Picture for our oldest son.

We will be using two great free resources, Easy Peasy All in One Homeschool and Ambleside Online. Both of these free online K-12 curriculum sites are absolutely wonderful.  EP was born from a mother who put together her children’s education and made it available for others to use. Ambleside Online is based off of the Charlotte Mason style of homeschooling and offers a great education by reading great living books.

I put together this overall plan for a few reasons. Collecting resources is an important part of homeschooling. Having at a glance the subjects we will be covering allows me to prepare ahead of time. If I come across a book or activity that isn’t quite a subject we are working on at the moment, I’m able to look ahead and decide if it will be helpful for us down the line.

I have made a spreadsheet for each of my children. The years and their ages are listed. I will not be keeping grade levels as I believe each child learns at their own pace. With this in mind, these spreadsheets are not set in stone. If one child needs and extra year of a certain type of math we’ll get through it. If another child needs to move ahead in a subject, we have the freedom to do that.

Being able to look at a piece of paper and look remind myself of what is planned out helps me relax during the long days of juggling wife, mom, and teacher. The ultimate prize is that my children grow up with a curiosity for life and everything around them.

Leave a Reply

